The people of Kannada speaking community of Indian origin having solemnly resolved to constitute an association of people known as KAVERI KANNADA SANGHA in Dar es salaam, Tanzania

History of Kaveri Kannada Sangha, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

On Nov 1st, 1956, Mysore state, comprising most of the area of the erstwhile princely state of Mysore, was merged with the Kannada speaking areas of the Bombay and Madras presidencies, as also of the principality of Hyderabad, to create a unified Kannada-speaking sub national entity. The newly unified state initially retained the name "Mysore", which was that of the erstwhile princely state which formed the core of the new entity.

North Karnataka, Malnad (Canara) and old Mysore were thus the three regions of the newly formed Mysore state. People of Mysore state felt that the name of the state represents only Mysore region as Mysore itself was a princely state. Hence on November 1, 1973, under the leadership of then Chief Minister Shri. D. Devaraj Urs a landmark decision to change the name to "KARNATAKA STATE" was taken.

It was in the year 1999, under the able leadership of Mr.Vasudev Barkur & Mr.Amarnath, our Kannada Sangha was established in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. As river Kaveri is "Jeevanaadi" of Karnataka, the association was named as "Kaveri Kannada Sangha".


Some of the main objectives of the association are

The mission of the Kaveri Kannada Sangha are:

Kannada members to interact through meetings, gatherings and celebration of common festivals and beliefs

To maintain and develop cultural heritage of Karnataka in particular and India & Tanzania in general.

Equality of status and of opportunity to all its members and to promote among them all fraternity assuring the dignity of the individual and the unity and integrity of the association and the members hereby adopt, enact and give ourselves the charter of the association

To promote harmony and understanding with other Indian / Tanzanian associations & clubs so as to have mutual and social development

To promote and share culture, sports, education etc amongst association members & members of the other community

To help the needy people & organizations


Presidents of Kaveri Kannada Sangha, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

Mr.Amarnath Rao 1999-2000
Mr.Balaji 2000-2002
Mr.Moham Ramaswamy 2002-2003
Mr.Jayatheerthan 2003-2004
Mr.Balashekar 2004-2005
Mr.Lokanatha Reddy 2005-2006
Mr.Jeevan D'souza 2006-2007
Mr.S.V Hegdekatte 2007-2008
Mr.Dilip Mujumdar 2008-2009
Mr.Raghavendra Rao 2009-2010
Mr.Shashibhushan Mijar/Mr. Anil Kadadi 2010-2011
Mr. Anil Kadadi 2011-2012
Mr. Vadiraj/Mr. Satyanarayana 2012-2013
Mrs. Supriya Savalgi/Mr. Umesh pujari 2013-2014
Mr. Satyanarayana 2014-2015
Mr. Kishore Shetty 2015-2016
Mr. Rajkumar Kalyanshetty 2016-2017
Mr. Lokesh N Marakala 2017-2018